Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16559 Discussions

Signal Tap II - Invalid JTAG Configuration (using USB Blaster) (Cyclone IV)

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, I'm trying to use SignalTap in the Quartus II IDE and after setting up USB Blaster according to some online tutorial, (it seems to be working in the sense that the "Hardware Setup" tab identifies and allows me to select "USB-Blaster [4-2]" as the device) and programming the FPGA with the .sof file successfully, when I try to run "Autorun Analysis" in SignalTap II, all it says "Invalid JTAG Configuration" (see uploaded image). I have tried doing a couple of various things to try to fix the error but none have actually been succesful. 

I'm pretty new to the Quartus Software as well as SignalTap so if I need to provide more information to further explain the situation I am experiencing let me know. 

Thanks 

https://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=7073
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The message "Instance not found" is telling you that this design does not contain this instance of SignalTap II. 

Once you've created a SignalTap II instance, you need to add it to your project, and then re-synthesize the design. 

The SignalTap II GUI normally asked you if you want to add this instance to your project. If you said no, then you can still add it, you just have to go to the Assignments->Settings menu, and under Category select SignalTap II Logic Analyzer, set the path to the instance, and check the check-button to use it. 

Cheers, 

Dave
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II