Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16593 Discussions

Trying to generate a signal.

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello :) 

I am really new with VHDL, I am doing my thesis coding in it, and I am stuck in some parts, so maybe someone could help me? 

I have created an optimized 4x4 bits multiplier, and i need to extract the results from that. I mean: 

A3A2A1A0 X B3B2B1B0 = C3C2C1C0 D3D2D1D0  

0000 x 0001 = 0000 0000 

1010 x 1010 = 0010 1010 

So, I am trying to create signals from 0 0 to 9 9 for my multiplier in wthis way: 

--- Quote Start ---  

library std; 

LIBRARY ieee; 

use std.textio.all;  

USE ieee.std_logic_1164.all;  

entity TBMULT is 

port(a3,a2,a1,a0,b3,b2,b1,b0 : OUT STD_LOGIC); 

end TBMULT; 

architecture Behavioral of TBMULT is 

signal first, second : std_LOGIC_VECTOR (3 downto 0); 

signal clock : bit := '0'; 

begin 

clock <= not (clock) after 0.5 ns;  

process (clock) 

begin 

for i in 0 to 9 loop 

for j in 0 to 9 loop 

CASE I IS 

when 0 => first <= "0000"; 

when 1 => first <= "0001"; 

when 2 => first <= "0010"; 

when 3 => first <= "0011"; 

when 4 => first <= "0100"; 

when 5 => first <= "0101"; 

when 6 => first <= "0110"; 

when 7 => first <= "0111"; 

when 8 => first <= "1000"; 

when others => first <= "1001"; 

end case; 

CASE J IS 

when 0 => second <= "0000"; 

when 1 => second <= "0001"; 

when 2 => second <= "0010"; 

when 3 => second <= "0011"; 

when 4 => second <= "0100"; 

when 5 => second <= "0101"; 

when 6 => second <= "0110"; 

when 7 => second <= "0111"; 

when 8 => second <= "1000"; 

when others => second <= "1001"; 

end case; 

a3 <= first(3); 

a2 <= first(2); 

a1 <= first(1); 

a0 <= first(0); 

b3 <= second(3); 

b2 <= second(2); 

b1 <= second(1); 

b0 <= second(0); 

end loop; 

end loop; 

end process; 

end Behavioral; 

--- Quote End ---