Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)

design a BCD Counter

gabra4
Novice

hello.

i'm a bit of a newbie here and i'm trying to create a bcd counter schematic for a university project using either a tff or a dff. i created the truth table for the circuit and designed the circuit as it should be. but when i start the simulation, it doesn't count from 0-9 but instead it just goes from 0 to 1 then 8 and 9 i cannot find an issue with the circuit but i thought someone with experience should know. i have attached a screenshot of the circuit (i can't upload the bdf file) andCapture.PNG a screenshot of the simulation download.jpg

0 Kudos
11 Replies
RRomano001
New Contributor I

This seems an Homework, again schematic is the basic approach to initial learning of FPGA but deprecated, useful if you need convert old discrete logic design.

Your design has error in it and state network nor work on logic nor on simulator.

Previous sentence infer nor on FPGA, check for error and retry.

First error is on top, Q0 must be excited by NOT Q0 not Q3..

Regards

0 Kudos
Vicky1
Employee

Hi,

Have you compiled the design without any error?

If possible, attach the project file.

"Project" -> "Archive Project"

Regards,

Vicky

0 Kudos
gabra4
Novice

hi vicky.

i did compile it and got no errors. but my project is a bit big so i'll be sending the bdf file of the bcd counter

Vicky1
Employee

Hi,

Click(Highlight) "Q" in Simulation Waveform Editor.

"Edit"->"Radix"-"Unsigned Decimal"

It is counting (0-15) since your design(logic) consist of 4 flops, just modify the design as per requirement.

let me know, if this has helped to resolve your issue or if you have any different concern

Regards,

Vicky

0 Kudos
gabra4
Novice