Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16557 Discussions

gate lev sim not working as expected

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hello everybody 

im quite new in developing for FPGA. 

I have started wih DE0-nano board.  

im learning just programming an easy FSM that performs elementary operations. 

i have followed the tutorial for simulating the circuit with Modelsim-Altera. 

no problem with the flow of functional simulation. the operations are simulated in the sequence as expected. 

While trying to create timing simulation with the same Modelsim (gate level simulation) 

my FSM does not work as expected. The state of FSM is update in not controlled way. 

I have made several tries and i have the suspect to have wrong code the two process statement that concurrency run. 

The source code is in VHDL. 

So same code in VHD work in functional simulation and worngly work in gate level simulation. 

i would like to fix this issue to learn more about FPGA.  

Thank you
0 Kudos
21 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

without the code, we cant really tell what the problem is. Is the design fully syncrhonous?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

without the code, we cant really tell what the problem is. Is the design fully syncrhonous? 

--- Quote End ---  

can i post the code here? 

the project is simple FSM with asyncrohous input and one clock to trigger all the transiction inside
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

sorry for the alert, 

but it's safe to post code here?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

sorry for the alert, 

but it's safe to post code here? 

--- Quote End ---  

Yes. Post the code so we can try and work out whats wrong.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II