Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16606 Discussions

generate clock with Quartus 7.1 web adition

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello everyone, 

I've asked here before how can I make the FPGA generate a clock with Quartus 7.1. 

I read the user guide you told me and I used the MegaWizard Plug-In Manager (ALTPLL) in order to do it.  

after the wizard is dune, the Quartus is creating a new verilog file with the module that multiplies the input clock frequency. 

I want to combine this file with another module I made, and I can't understand how to do it.  

Sorry if my question is stupid. As I mentioned before, I'm new to verilog and Quertus.
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

If you are using HDL flow, you should use the instance that is generated by megawizard. Refer to the generated verilog or vhdl file for this. Wire the input/output in your design file for the generated pll just like you connect any other modules in HDL design flow and you can use this pll in your design. 

If you are using schematic flow, you should use the generated bsf file of the pll. You may have to generate the bsf for your design file. If you are using SOPC builder flow, the bsf for your system must have been automatically generated by SOPC builder.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You can use "map" in vhdl. A handbook is good for you. 

You can also do as follows.After compiling your project(written with vhdl or verilog),"File\Create/update\Create sambol files for current file", then you can insert it in your other projects. 

Hope it can help you! 

Regards.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am going to work from a more basic level. 

In general, you Cannot make the FPGA generate a clock.