Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16557 Discussions

java crash when opening Qsys on windows 10

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello there, 

Im fairly new to quartus and im having an issue with Qsys. When i try to open Qsys from quartus, im getting a "java (tm) platform se binary has stopped working". Note that i have Quartus 16.1 with update 2 installed on a windows 10 system. Could this be an issue with compatibility with windows? I have also tried to run the Qsys in windows 7 compatible mode and it still did not work. Also, i saw on a old post that it might be because of any current JRE installed in the computer, but i dont seem to have any java related software installed on my computer besides quartus itself. 

Anyone might have a clue on the issue? 

Thanks 

Renato
0 Kudos
17 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I have the same issue. I upgraded from 16.0 to 16.1.2 yesterday (2/7/17) and encountered the problem. De-installed separate Java installation and 16.1.2 and now 16.0 won't run either. De-installed 16.0 and clean installed 16.1.2. No joy. Now I'm dead in the water. If I come across a solution, I'll post to this thread. 

Ken
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I downgraded back to 16.0 and still have the issue.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I will open a ticket with altera today after work to see if they can figure out something 

thanks for the replies.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Unless Altera has seen this before and has a solution, I think we're in for a battle. For starters, I don't think many users that the issue (a guess from Google searches). Next, I don't think it has anything to do with the basic file sets in question: 

C:\altera\<ver>\quartus\sopc_builder\bin for the "qsys-edit.exe" executable, and,