Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16596 Discussions

load .mif-file on DE0-CV board

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

-- i solved the problems i had. to see the solution have a look at post# 9 -- 

Hello community, 

I got a problem with my mif file. I've never worked with that before but I want to change the default values in my memory. The mif-file is already created (two versions: one with text editor and one with memory editor) but I have no idea how to upload the file to my board.  

I'm a beginner in working with vhdl and Quartus so my skills are limited :P I'm able to upload an output file with the programmer which is created after compiling. But I have no idea how to upload the mif file. 

The board I'm using is a DE0-CV Cyclone V 5CEBA4F23C7N and I'm working with Quartus prime lite edition. 

Hope anybody can help me with this. 

Best, 

orPoG
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello  

orPog, 

See thread below, I presented a problem and included the solution (with .zip files) 

"Default Cannot initialize 2D array of bytes from file (ram_init_file / $readmemh): Solved" 

Good Luck, 

Johi
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello Johi, 

unfortunately I have no idea how your code works. I've never seen code like '$readmemh' before :/ 

I just want to initialize the memory on my board. But It starts with the problem: How to connect the mif-file with the other files to get an output file generated by compiling which I can upload on my board. I'm also not sure if I wrapped the memory file correctly to my main code. I've never done that before and have no idea how it works. I'll attach the code I got until now. Maybe you see a problem in the wrapping part (after the 'begin' of my architecture)? 

Best, 

orPoG
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

TO_BE_DONE

0 Kudos