Intel® oneAPI Math Kernel Library
Ask questions and share information with other developers who use Intel® Math Kernel Library.

mkl poisson solver with periodic and dirichlet boundary condition

Soumya_B_
Beginner

Hello Sir,

I am trying to solve electrostatic Poisson's equation using Poisson MKL library 'd_Poisson_2D_c.c' but my boundary conditions are periodic (X direction) and fixed in Y direction. How shall i incorporate periodic condition in the X direction ? 

I tried in this way but i donot think it is correct,

for( iy = 0; iy <= ny; iy++){

bd_ax[iy] = bd_bx[iy];

}

and  applied BCtype='PPDD' .

I am very new in this field. Please help me.

Thanks

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Alexander_K_Intel2

Hi,

Everything is correct. Moreover, you don't need to describe value of boundary condition on x=ax and x=bx - you set them as periodical so bd_ax and bd_bx have not use in computational.

Thanks,

Alex

0 Kudos
Soumya_B_
Beginner

Dear Alex,

Thanks for your reply, but i am not getting it. Do you mean that if i impose the condition 'bd_ax[iy] = bd_bx[iy]', the routine doesnot 

at all use this in the computation ? If so, then what kind of value  will it take ? Actually it is not clear to me.

sorry for the inconvinience.

Thanks,

Soumya

0 Kudos
Alexander_K_Intel2

Hi Soumya,

It will use condition like u(i,j) = u(N+i,j) for any i,j. That's mean left edge of square is equal to right one.

Thanks,

Alex

0 Kudos
Soumya_B_
Beginner

I got it..Thanks alot....!!

0 Kudos
Soumya_B_
Beginner

Hi,

i have a query. when i am imposing periodic boundary condition do i  need to write both the conditions as shown in the manual.

For periodic in X direction i gave bd_ax(iy) = bd_bx(iy)(for iy = 0:ny)equation.gif

Now do i need to specify the derivative boundary condition also ? if yes how to specify in terms of bd_ax and bd_bx or when i impose bc_type as

'PPDD' it automatically takes care of both the conditions ? Please help.

Thanks,

Soumya

0 Kudos
Alexander_K_Intel2

Hi