Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

From Cilk to Intel TBB

erling_andersen
New Contributor I

Hi

I am big fan of Cilk but it is dead. So now I want to use TBB instead. (So I am new to TBB)

I rely on the function

__cilkrts_get_worker_number()

Therefore, I created a global arena  as follows

tbb::task_arena *global_arena=NULL;

int tbb_setnumworkers(integer32 numworkers)
{
  int  ok=1;

if ( global_arena==NULL )
    global_arena = new tbb::task_arena (numworkers);
}

and then my parallel fors looks like

(*global_arena).execute([=](){ tbb::parallel_for(ufirst,ulast,ustep,[=](uinteger32 i){(*f)(i,arg);}); });

Now I need a thread id I do

integer32 tbb_workerid(void)
{
  if ( global_arena==NULL )
    return ( 0 );
  else
    return ( tbb::this_task_arena::current_thread_index() );
} /* tbb_workerid */

It works mostly. However, it seems when tbb_workerid is not called from the thread that created the global_arena then the thread is -1. Well, at least I get -1 in some cases.

Any suggestion for fixing this issue with thread id being -1 in some cases? Or is it impossible?

Thanks.

Erling

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Jeffrey_H_Intel
Employee

Sorry, my first attempt to answer this was wrong.  I don't think TBB has a way to detect the underlying thread id, by design (https://software.intel.com/en-us/comment/1585082#).

What are you going that requires the thread id?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Jeffrey_H_Intel
Employee

Sorry, my first attempt to answer this was wrong.  I don't think TBB has a way to detect the underlying thread id, by design (https://software.intel.com/en-us/comment/1585082#).

What are you going that requires the thread id?

0 Kudos
James_T_Intel