Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20703 Discussions

Choosing a FPGA

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi,  

I am new to FPGA. I am looking for a FPGA to do motor control. I have looked around the website and read a little about it. Could you please help me to find one? 

The speed has to be more than 150MHz, single core processor, 12 pwm channels (synchronised), more than 17 ADC channels for different sensors, non BGA packaging, 2 SPI, 2 CAN and operating temperature between -55C and 105C (or more) and many GPIO (nearly 100) 

I will very much appreciate your help.  

Thank you, 

Shiromini
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hi,  

I am new to FPGA. I am looking for a FPGA to do motor control. I have looked around the website and read a little about it. Could you please help me to find one? 

The speed has to be more than 150MHz, single core processor, 12 pwm channels (synchronised), more than 17 ADC channels for different sensors, non BGA packaging, 2 SPI, 2 CAN and operating temperature between -55C and 105C (or more) and many GPIO (nearly 100) 

I will very much appreciate your help.  

Thank you, 

Shiromini 

--- Quote End ---  

Well, that is a pretty complex set of required features, especially for a non-BGA package. 

Altera MAX 10 series gets you close: 17 (or 18) A/D channels, EQFP144 package, -40'C to 125'C automotive grade. 101 I/Os in the EQFP package. 

For processor, you would have to roll your own soft core. Ditto for PWM channels, 2xSPI, and 2xCAN. These would be implemented in device logic. 

If you had to have a hard processor core (ie, ARM) then likely you would lose the BGA package and the integrated ADC options.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi 

Thank you for your response. How many logic modules do I need for my purpose? What are logic modules? What are DSP blocks and memory blocks? How many do I need?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum