Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20688 Discussions

Couple of questions about the remote update system

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello! 

This is my first time around this forums, so greetings to all of you. I hope you can help me with the following questions. 

I've been tasked with implementing the remote update functionality for our FPGAs, we are currently using Cyclone V (5CGX variants, at the moment). After using the ASMI and remote_update IPs and creating the necessary user logic, everything is working perfectly! 

However, I still have some doubts I haven't been able to completely clear out by reading the corresponding documentation, handbooks and application notes. A couple are just me wanting to be certain about how they work. 

1) Since the update circuitry is implemented in dedicated hardware within the FPGA there is no way this could be affected by SEU errors, is this correct? What about the registers that hold status or watchdog timer values? 

2) The watchdog's documentation states that it counts based on the "watchdog timer internal oscillator" and the CycV datasheet only mentions a minimun and maximum value (5.3 to 12.5 MHz). 

I'm not certain if this is an independent oscillator that needs configuring or if it's the same clock used as the "Active serial clock source" in the Device and Pin Options tab. If it's the first, where do I find this setting? 

I don't think it's the same clock used for the remote update IP input clock source since this wouldn't make any sense if the configuration fails (that clock could very well disappear), is that right?