Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20638 Discussions

Data Transfer from FPGA-to-HPS

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am very new to the Altera FPGA suite (and FPGAs in general), and was looking to get some advice on how to transfer data from the FPGA to the HPS. I've done fair amount of research, but I wasn't sure which method would be the best way to do it. The amount of data will be set to around 37Kilobits. So would the FPGA to HPS bridge be the best? Or limiting the amount of RAM the HPS uses then writing to the other section, then having the HPS read from that memory space? The data would becoming practically continuously. So, I was thinking of a double buffer scenario where the FPGA would write to one buffer, the HPS would read it while the FPGA was writing to the other, then the HPS would read from that one while the FPGA was writing to the other and so on and so forth. I appreciate any advice! I'm using the DE0-Nano-SOC with Cyclone V 5CSEMA4U23C6 Revision C. Thanks! 

EDIT: Also I was imagining the FPGA could send an interrupt to the HPS whenever it had finished writing a chunk of data, telling it that its time to read. For the most part I have the HPS side figured out (i'm more of a software guy) Its the FPGA side I'm completely lost. 

EDIT2: In terms of speed it only needs to be capable of around 80MBits per second since thats as fast ill be receiving data into the FPGA.
0 Kudos
15 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

There are basically two options.