Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20680 Discussions

Fails to compile when using the hard DDR controller in Cyclone V part.

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

HI, 

I am using the Altera Cyclone V GT development kit. I have been working with this board for about 2 years.  

The card has 2 banks of DDR memory. One bank is 64-bits wide, and uses a soft core. The other bank is 32-bits wide and uses a hard core. 

I have been using the 64-bit memory. 

I have a need to add the 32-bit memory to the mix. I added the 32-bit core to my design. 

I am getting a fail at compile time. The failure message is shown below. Does anyone know what this message means, and how I can fix it? 

Error (17044): Illegal connection on I/O input buffer primitive ADC_Block 

:U1|q_sys_all 

:b2v_inst10|q_sys_all_DDR3_VRB 

:ddr3_vrb|q_sys_all_DDR3_VRB_p0 

:p0|q_sys_all_DDR3_VRB_p0_acv_hard_memphy:umemphy|q_sys_all_DDR3_VRB_p0_acv_hard_io_pads 

:uio_pads|q_sys_all_DDR3_VRB_p0_altdqdqs:dq_ddio[0].ubidir_dq_dqs|altdq_dqs2_acv_connect_to_hard_phy_cyclonev 

:altdq_dqs2_inst|strobe_in.  

Source I/O pin ADC_Block:U1|q_sys_all:b2v_inst10|q_sys_all_DDR3_VRB:ddr3_vrb|q_sys_all_DDR3_VRB_p0 

:p0|q_sys_all_DDR3_VRB_p0_acv_hard_memphy:umemphy|q_sys_all_DDR3_VRB_p0_acv_hard_io_pads 

:uio_pads|q_sys_all_DDR3_VRB_p0_altdqdqs:dq_ddio[0].ubidir_dq_dqs|altdq_dqs2_acv_connect_to_hard_phy_cyclonev 

:altdq_dqs2_inst|obuf_os_0 drives out to destinations other than the specified I/O input buffer primitive.  

Modify your design so the specified source I/O pin drives only the specified I/O input buffer primitive.  

File: C:/Echodyne/FPGA_Files/A_Current_Files/ADC_Card5_S8_Vector_LB/Q_SYS_ALL/Q_SYS_ALL/synthesis/submodules/altdq_dqs2_acv_connect_to_hard_phy_cyclonev.sv Line: 954
0 Kudos
1 Reply
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

HI, 

The error message looks like you are connecting Hard DDR pin to your own user design.