Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20641 Discussions

Generate patterns through CPLD(MAXII)?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm new to FPGA/CPLD. Could any one help me? 

I'm wondering if I can use CPLD/FPGA to generate some patterns to output pins? This is for some simple test purpose. 

For example, under 50MHz clock, to generate pattern as "0011110000111100101010...." 

As I know, the CPLD/FPGAs are to be programmed as logic functions.  

Appreciate for the answers.
0 Kudos
36 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Sure! This is one of the basic purposes of programmable logic. 

What you need can be done defining a simple shift register function.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for promptly response, Cris! 

Then, I will need to study how to implement it through FPGA. 

Best regards,
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

I'm new to FPGA/CPLD. Could any one help me? 

I'm wondering if I can use CPLD/FPGA to generate some patterns to output pins? This is for some simple test purpose. 

For example, under 50MHz clock, to generate pattern as "0011110000111100101010...." 

As I know, the CPLD/FPGAs are to be programmed as logic functions.  

Appreciate for the answers. 

--- Quote End ---  

There are two key differences between FPGAs (eg., Cyclone IV devices) and CPLDs (eg., MAX II devices); the CPLDs have a small number of logic elements and no on-chip RAM. 

If you are making a test pattern generator, then I would recommend looking at using a Cyclone III or IV device. The JTAG interface on the device can be used as a 'logic analyzer' (using SignalTap II) so you can see your pattern being generated, and you could wire signals from your device under test back to the FPGA to capture the response. 

Since the MAX II does not have RAM, this feature is not available there. 

Cheers, 

Dave
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II