Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20645 Discussions

Max v cpld dpll

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi All, 

I am new to the Altera CPLDs. Come from the X-Company side of things. The Max V CPLD looks really cool. What with user Flash memory, Internal programmable Oscillator, low power states. Is there a DPLL available on these devices. I found references to that on the product landing page but the data sheet does not talk about that. Can someone please clarify? 

thanks 

ANanth
0 Kudos
13 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

MAX V effectively is MAX II, with identical specification and core structure, and minimal changes, extending Z (zero power) to higher densities and introducing new packages. Rated number of programming cycles has been gracefully increased from 100 to 1000 for the UFM. 

MAX II/V has an internal RC oscillator, required for operation of the internal flash and also exposed to user logic. It's not programmable. No new clock processing features are provided according to the datasheet. 

The DPLL point is interesting indeed. It still written on the MAX V product page. 

http://www.altera.com/products/devices/cpld/max-v/mxv-index.jsp 

--- Quote Start ---  

...features including: 

Digital PLLs (DPLLs), which enable flexible implementation of designs requiring frequency multiplication or phase shifting 

--- Quote End ---  

It's also written in the MAX V solution sheet http://www.altera.com/literature/po/ss-maxv-cplds.pdf 

--- Quote Start ---  

MAX V Silicon Features and Benefits 

Phase-locked loops (PLLs) - Digital PLL implementation provides flexible implementation for designs needing frequency multiplication or phase shifting. 

--- Quote End ---  

So either the "clock network" chapter has been forgotten in the MAX V datasheet, or the feature has been previously planned but wasn't implemented, or it has been implemented, but doesn't work.
0 Kudos
Grantwt
Beginner