Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20737 Discussions

Qsys 13.1 tutorial

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I have a Cyclone 3 Development board. I want to use its external SRAM, and connect to a custom CPU that I would download into the FPGA. 

I've not used Qsys before, and I'm having trouble finding a tutorial. 

I have Quartus 13.1 (since this supports Cyclone 3) but the only Qsys tutorial I found seems to be for later versions, since it refers to using 'IP Catalog' which does not seem to exist yet in Qsys 13.1. Is it possible to find a tutorial for this version which includes instructions how to build a testbench and run simulations with Qsys? 

Also, since it's my first time using Qsys, would Qsys be used to generate a SRAM controller and interface to the on-board SRAM? Is this correct?
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Try the Quartus II handbook: 

https://www.altera.com/content/dam/altera-www/global/en_us/pdfs/literature/hb/qts/archives/quartusii_handbook_archive_131.pdf 

It has several chapters on QSYS. 

Basically QSYS has a library of components already in it, so. Since you are using a custom CPU, instead of NIOS, it may be a bit more complicated, but you should be able to expose the avalon bus and make a wrapper for your CPU to talk to it. 

Pete
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II