Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

Reading fan speed, temperatures, voltages and RAID status

Erik_Loman
Beginner

Hello all,

For the lack of a better place I post my question here.

We are creating an appliance based on Intel 3000 chipset (with ICH7 controller) running Windows XP SP2 Embedded.
We would like to get information about the hardware state like fan speeds, temperatures, voltages and S.M.A.R.T. hard disk information(through RAID) and RAID status.

Since we run Windows XP Embedded we are not able to install management suites, we just want to get the values.

Where can I find information on how to retrieve these values from the motherboard. For example SpeedFan is able to read most of these values but where can I find information from Intel on how to access this kind of information? I assume I have to access the SMbus. But where is the documentation on how to do this?

I am a software developer and I am willing to write drivers or DLLs if that what it takes. But to my opinion it should be made fairly easy to read this kind of info from the hardware. Somehow I am unable to find more information on the matter.

Please help me out. Any advice or links to helpful articles are more than welcome.

Kind regards,
Erik Loman
Software Architect

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Intel_Software_Netw1
Hi Erik,

All publicly posted hardware information of this type is linked from the Intel Hardware Design site.

If the technical info you need isn't in the public docs, then since you are also doing software development, our recommendation would be for Surfright to sign up to the Intel Software Partner Program, which will give you access to some additional software enabling support. (We recommend this in either case, really -- might as well take advantage of all the free benefits Intel offers to software companies. :) ) You can then work through your program membership to sign any NDAs required to access non-public documentation.