Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

Why are multipliers low-locked?

elesueur
Beginner
This may seem a silly question on the surface, but I think it's still valid...

I have a Xeon X3353, which has a maximum core clock of 2.667GHz.

It has 3 P-States, P0 (2.66GHz), P1 (2.33GHz) and P2 (2.00GHz) which correspond to multipliers of 6, 7 and 8 respectively, and VID's of 1A, 1D and 20.

Why is the lowest multiplier 6? Why can't I go to 1.667GHz or any lower?

It seems pointless to provide frequency scaling when the range is so minimal. If I want to save real energy, I need to be able to drop it down to 333MHz when running horrible memory bound applications - why is EIST so limiting in that respect?

I can understand why the upper multiplier would be locked - so people can't overclock and get performance for free, but sure lowering it doesn't have any consequences for anybody...

0 Kudos
12 Replies
levicki
Valued Contributor I

I am not an Intel engineer but I will try to explain:

In order to save power it is not enough to decrease the frequency, you need to decrease voltage as well. There is a certain voltage point (let's say 0.825V) below which CPU won't be able to operate at all, much less reliably. Given that today's CPUs already have low operating voltages to begin with, there is only so much (or so little) saving headroom available.

0 Kudos
elesueur
Beginner
I'm aware of the dependence on voltage to run stably, but remember that frequency is an important (although not as much as voltage) part of the power equation,

p = CfV^2

Even if the voltage has to remain at a relatively higher VID, the frequency could still be reduced to further increase energy savings.

The FID/VID values should be able to be manipulated independently (to a degree) ie, I would deem it reasonable for Intel to limit the minimum VID for a particular FID, but changing FID alone should not cause any instability.