Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

total noob coming across road blocks at almost every step.

George_H_1
Beginner

Hello, So I have an idea for an app, and figured it needs to become a reality.  So a few days ago I started looking into development for the android.  I figure this will be a long hard road as my coding experience does not extend beyond a little HTML.

The first thing I learned about was Android Studio, and after a day trouble-shooting I was able to get it to run on my PC. The next thing I did Attempt to start up AVD.  But I got the following error: "J:\Users\Tatsuno\AppData\Local\Android\sdk\tools\emulator.exe -avd Nexus_S_API_21 -netspeed full -netdelay none
emulator: ERROR: x86 emulation currently requires hardware acceleration!
Please ensure Intel HAXM is properly installed and usable.
CPU acceleration status: HAX kernel module is not installed!"

So I looked up installing the HAX kernel module.  First I ensured that the Intelx86 Emulator accelerator (HAXM installer) was installed in the SDK manager.  I then looked up how to enable virtualization in the bios.  I reset my PC hit F10 to enter settings, nothing happened, changed keyboard and then I got into settings.  Once in settings I found a thing that said virtualization, and enabled it.  Finally I located my SDK folder and attempted to install intelhaxm-android.exe, where I got this error: "VT not suported This computer does not support Intel virtualization Technology (VT-x). HAXM cannot be installed Please refer to the intel HAXM documentation for more information".

I could not locate the intel HAXM documentation, but I did find https://software.intel.com/en-us/blogs/2014/03/14/troubleshooting-intel-haxm So I started going through the steps.

1) Make sure you have the latest version of Intel® HAXM.

I downloaded it yesterday, so I'm sure I have the latest version.  Also I think the problem is that I cannot install it.