Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4998 Discussions

libiomp5.so taking all the time - VTune Amp, XE 2011 and ifort

hallevison
Beginner
Hi:

I am new to VTune and I am trying to understand its output. I am running a fortran code and get the following output from the HotSpot analysis:

Note that libiomp5.so is taking all of the time. When I run Locks and Waits I get:

If I understand this correctly, the machine is waiting for a barrier in the subrotuine coord_h2b. Is this correct? However, coord_h2b is small and should not be taking any CPU time (at least for this problem). So, I reran that code removing the parallel directives from this subroutine. The CPU time did not change (as I expected), but now the Locks and Waits show this:

The amount of wait time has acutally gone up, but now it is associated with another subroutine, which also should not be important. Can anyone give me insight into what is going on?

I should note that I get an warning when I run VTune that "Symbol file is not found." I compile the code with
ifort -g -openmp -w -recursive -pc 64, but I link with a couple of libraries that are not compiled with the -g option (although these do not take up any CPU time).

Thanks.

- Hal

0 Kudos
12 Replies
Peter_W_Intel
Employee

Hi Hal,

First at all, I just want to verify if you are using latest VTune Amplifier XE 2011 Update 2?

I don't know what your example ifort code is. I suspect there is no more work in your parallel code region, so most of CPUstate dropped in "Wait"(IDLE) - see function "OMP Join Barrier..." called by [libiopm5.so]

Please use ifort example code from Composer XE product - /opt/intel/composerxe-2011.0.084/Samples/en_US/Fortran/openmp_samples
[root@NHM02 peter]# ifort -g -fpp -openmp -openmp-report openmp_sample.f90 -o openmp_sample.ifort
openmp_sample.f90(82) (col. 7): remark: OpenMP DEFINED LOOP WAS PARALLELIZED.