FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6359 Discussions

EMIF core clock sharing problem

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm trying to connect two EMIF QDRII controlers with shared clock on arria 10 (hard PHY and Soft Controller). I had generated EMIF slave component and connected it "clks_sharing_slave_in" to EMIF master "clks_sharing_master_out" (EMIFs handbook page 161 https://www.altera.com/content/dam/altera-www/global/en_us/pdfs/literature/hb/external-memory/emi_ip.pdf). Slave EMIFs doesnt have pll_ref_clk port, but during compilation i have an error(QDRIIA is master, QDRIIB is slave): 

Error (16301): IOPLL reference clock is not connected to a clock pin 

Info (16302): PLL: QDRII_550_B:QDRIIB|QDRII_550_B_altera_emif_170_c43qfqa:ddr3_inst|QDRII_550_B_altera_emif_arch_nf_170_glubjcy:arch|QDRII_550_B_altera_emif_arch_nf_170_glubjcy_top:arch_inst|altera_emif_arch_nf_pll:pll_inst|pll_inst 

what i am missing?  

Best regards, 

Lukas Krupa
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The documentation is confusing. This paragraph at the bottom of page 161 says that core clock sharing "necessitates" PLL reference clock sharing: 

"Core clock sharing necessitates PLL reference clock sharing; therefore, only the 

master interface exposes an input port for the PLL reference clock. All slave interfaces 

use the same PLL reference clock signal." 

And this section near the top of page 161 that describes PLL reference clock sharing says this: 

"To implement PLL reference clock sharing, open your RTL and connect the PLL 

reference clock signal at your design's top-level to the PLL reference clock port of 

multiple interfaces."