FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6356 Discussions

Help learning to write an avalon wrapper for new custom component

TwoBit
Beginner

I am a beginner learning Quartus. I am trying to write the HDL for a new component to make 2 LEDs blink in a system using a NIOS II processor. I'm trying to learn SystemVerilog rather than verilog. This HDL compiles without errors but is unfinished because I am still learning and and not fully certain how the avalon MM interface actually works. What is written is my understanding so far.

1. Can someone please shed some light on how the addressing part works? I've been reading through the altera manuals but am starting to get muddled in all the info. I do not understand how to set addresses so that the LSB of writedata will alert my go_flag to make my hardware actually start and be enabled.
  2. Is my state machine correct? To get my module to show that it is in action I can just use the go_flag and the go_Flag_Start relationship to get the writedata[0] bit?
  3. Where can I find learn how to write the c-code for the NIOS II processor? I'm googling and see examples using commands like IOWR and stuff like that but I can't yet find resources for learning that. I know C but not these commands in C.
  4. Any general coding (HDL) tips are welcomed to. I look forward to hearing back. Thank you!

Here's the module and the interface for it that I've written so far: