FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6356 Discussions

Implementing MSI/X Interrupts using Cyclone V Hard IP for PCI Express

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I'm fairly new to using Altera tools but I've been having problems setting up MSI/X interrupts in Qsys. 

I thought I would include as much info as I can in the bullet points below for your info. 

- Using cyclone v gx FPGA with avalon-mm Hard IP for PCIe within Qsys. 

- Hard IP is configured as a native endpoint, currently trying to setup MSI interrupt to be sent across a PCIe lane to a host (x86 root port). 

- Using x1 lane, Gen1 using the 62.5 MHz app clock. 

- Have multiple BARs enabled as 32-bit non pre-fetchable memory (Avalon Masters). 

- CRA control register slave port enabled. 

- Connected to our Hard IP, we have 4 slave devices each with the ability to send an IRQ. These are interconnected to the Hard IP Rx_BAR0 IRQ0-IRQ15 (Currently 0 - 3). 

- Set the MSI to request 4 messages. 

Basically our software driver in the host is not able to see more than 1 MSI interrupt being triggered. We have also tried implementing MSI-X but are unable to see any interrupts being triggered. 

There is an option in the Hard IP called "enable multiple msi/msi-x support"? I thought that a single MSI/X is able to send data regarding several interrupts/messages?  

According to the documentation if the above option is enabled, I would need to implement a custom IRQ handler in Qsys. Is this necessary based on my requirements? 

Regards, 

J
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I Jayan.mistry, 

I've got the nearly same problem as you. I connected several irq on RXmirq pcie-interrupt port and activated it in CRA registers (0x0050). 

And I've got only one MSI message in host side, whatever the irq is raised on RXmirq port. 

However, the host told me that 4 msi are available :