FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP

License problem

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi ! 

I am new at altera FPGA devices.I have a quartus 2 web edition.As I read from altera documents, after relasing the 8.1 version of quartus program,there is no license file for web edition quartus. 

When I try to compile verilog projects, I always see warning "parallel compilation is not liscensed and has been disabled " even if I try to compile very simple projects. 

Projects are compiled successfully and they work but I wonder whether it will be problem or not at my future projects. 

And I have Megafunction license and I try to load in Quarstus from tools - license setup but I can't work.Where do I make mistake when loading license file.There will be a problem because of using megafunction on web edition quartus. Do I have to buy other quartus types ? 

I try to check whether Qyartus 2 version suitable with PCI_t32 megafunction or not but It doesn't works anymore. 

If you help me about these problems,I will really appreciate it, Thanks in advance
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hi ! 

I am new at altera FPGA devices.I have a quartus 2 web edition.As I read from altera documents, after relasing the 8.1 version of quartus program,there is no license file for web edition quartus. 

When I try to compile verilog projects, I always see warning "parallel compilation is not liscensed and has been disabled " even if I try to compile very simple projects. 

Projects are compiled successfully and they work but I wonder whether it will be problem or not at my future projects. 

--- Quote End ---  

Licensed versions of Quartus can use more than 1 CPU core to speed up the compilation (a bit). This is just telling you it's only using one core. 

--- Quote Start ---