FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6343 Discussions

New IP development

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I am interested in developing some instructions which can do the bignum operations (like adding two operands of 1024 bit) 

and hence by plan to implement a simple Full Adder like this: {carry,sum} = OP_A + OP_B; 

I am a beginner in Altera and realized that I can develop an IP component with Avalon MM slave interface which can talk with the NIOS II processor. 

I was wondering how to give the bignum values as the operand from the NIOS II processor (master) to the IP component (slave) from the application code? 

I see only these macros in the generated 'io.h' file: # define IOWR_32DIRECT(BASE, OFFSET, DATA)  

io_write((BASE_APB_ADDR) + __AVL_TO_APB((alt_u32)((BASE) + (OFFSET))), DATA, (BASE) + (OFFSET)) 

# define IORD_32DIRECT(BASE, OFFSET)  

io_read((BASE_APB_ADDR) + __AVL_TO_APB((alt_u32)((BASE) + (OFFSET))), (BASE) + (OFFSET)) 

I guess these are the 32 bits write and read instructions. So, do I get to clock in the 1024 bits as a single instruction? 

Or do I have to wait for 32 clock cycles (sampling the 32 bits in a clock cycle, do for 32 clocks. Please say a no to this..) ! 

Hope that question is clear and someone can respond. Really appreciate it. 

Thank You, 

Akhil
0 Kudos
48 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

Can someone be of assistance to the above question please? That would be a big help. 

If the question is not clear I can explain it again. 

Any inputs are appreciated. 

Thank You, 

Akhil
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I gentle bounce here. Someone please help me. 

Thank You, 

Akhil
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II