FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6355 Discussions

Newbie question: Quartus Web Edition, Altera IP?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I got one of the nice DE series dev boards, I just downloaded Quartus II Web Edition, and I am just starting to learn about Altera FPGAs. One question that I have been left wondering about is as follows: Exactly what kind of "IP" or basic building blocks are free and fully included in the Quartus Web Edition?  

I assume I can place a logic gate on the schematic description "for free". 

On the other hand, in Qsys, I can add a QDR II+ SRAM controller component to my system. Not that I can actually use that, I am just playing around with the GUI. However, I don't get any warnings about licensing when doing this, yet it seems to me that this is one component that I would eventually have to buy a license for. When and how am I going to find out that I can't complete something that started to do, because it will require a license? 

I simply want to start out doing things that I can actually fully implement without any licensing or timeout issues. It is not clear to me which things will work (i.e., everything I can place on a schematic editor?) and which things will time out (i.e., anything that I build in Qsys with the Web Edition?). 

I just want to educate myself for a few months, using the Quartus Web Edition exclusively (and not the 30 days trial of Full Quartus) to build some simple non-expiring FPGA functionality. 

Please advise.
0 Kudos
1 Reply
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

First if you have any license installed, it will show up in Tools > License Setup. The version column should tell you when the corresponding license will expire (although Licenses never expire, but I never fully understood how to make the difference).