Intel® Business Client Software Development
Support for Intel® vPro™ software development and technologies associated with Intel vPro platforms.
1381 Discussions

Dell OptiPlex 755 - Boot menu not visible in SOL window

kris_lmi
Beginner
Hello,

I am not sure if I am posting to the appropriate thread. If not, please excuse me. I am a newbie. :)

We have DELL OptiPlex 755 machines which were shipped with AMT 3.2. Since we use multi boot (5-6 different operating systems are installed on those boxes) it would be very nice if we could reboot the machine and select the OS from the boot menu remotely. I set up the machine to use Small Business provisioning and was able to connect to the web interface using http://:16992 Then I have downloaded the Manageability Developer Toolkit from the Intel website and used the Manageability Commander Tool to connect to the host. I was quite successful with that, everything worked (power on/off, b2b, etc.) except for seeing the boot menu in the SOL console window. I saw the initial boot screen but as soon as Vistas boot menu was displayed the remote screen has gone blank. I could navigate through the menu (I pushed up/down on the remote keyboard and saw the cursor moving up and down on the locally attached screen) though. I have also downloaded a 3rd party application whichproduced the same symptoms, everything worked fine except for seeing the boot menu.
DELL bios version# is A13.

I would be very thankful if you could give me any advise.

Thanks,
Kristof
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Shmuel_G_Intel
Employee
Quoting - kris_lmi
Hello,

I am not sure if I am posting to the appropriate thread. If not, please excuse me. I am a newbie. :)