Intel® DevCloud
Help for those needing help starting or connecting to the Intel® DevCloud
1641 Discussions

Stack size inside jobs too small

NJenkins
Beginner

I’m new to Devcloud (and loving it so far), but can’t work out how to adjust the stack size limit inside a devcloud job. I’m trying to run a piece of code using openMP in Fortran which contains some large arrays that I would prefer to keep in the stack.

The login node has a default stack size of 8192 according to 'ulimit -s', but there is no restriction against increasing this, so I can set it to the 32768 I need to run my code. But after two minutes this times out because the login node is not for computing tasks.

However, if I run an interactive job using 'qsub -I', the default stack size is 12288 but cannot be increased. Because of this, code which runs in the login shell won’t run inside a job, so I can’t test my code. The code below shows the output from trying to change the stack size inside an interactive job.

uxxxxx@s001-n013:~$ ulimit -s
uxxxxx@s001-n013:~$ ulimit -s 32768
-bash: ulimit: stack size: cannot modify limit: Operation not permitted

I know I can change my code to use heap instead, but for the quick testing I’m trying to run at the moment, it’s a relatively significant change to have to make. Is there a way to change the stack available when I set up the job, or are there any flags/ environment variables I can use with ifort or gfortran to prevent this from causing errors? Running with the smaller stack size results in a segmentation fault. Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
1 Solution
AlekhyaV_Intel

Hi,

We got an update from the admin team. Sorry to inform you that stack size in compute nodes is set to default i.e. 12288 bytes and cannot be increased/changed in DevCloud.

Regards,

Alekhya

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
AlekhyaV_Intel

Hi,

Thank you for posting in Intel Forums. We are working on this issue internally. We will get back to you soon with an update.