Intel® FPGA University Program
University Program Material, Education Boards, and Laboratory Exercises
1174 Discussions

Quartus II 14.0 (64bit) - vsim error 3170 - Could not find test vector

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I'm a rookie user of Quartus II suite and an entry-level VHDL developer. 

After creating a project in which I used an Altera IP megafunction (a shift register), the University Program VWF won't work again. It states: 

"Error: (vsim-3170) Could not find 'work.SIMPLEADDER_vlg_vec_tst'." 

I'm writing code in VHDL, but I noticed that every time I try running a RTL simulation in University Program VWF the EDA Tool Format Setting switches to Verilog HDL by itself, whereas I select VHDL prior to beginning the simulation. 

Does anybody have an idea about what is the problem? Consider that I was able to simulate without issues before creating and trying to simulate one project with an IP component. 

Thank you in advance.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Up, please.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi have the same issue.  

# vsim -c -do "PWM.do" # Start time: 13:23:20 on Jan 13,2015# ** Error: (vsim-3170) Could not find 'work.PWM_vlg_vec_tst'.# # Error loading design 

Error loading design 

# End time: 13:23:20 on Jan 13,2015, Elapsed time: 0:00:00# Errors: 1, Warnings: 0 

Error.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Solved !!! We should define the top-level entity: 

a) Press "Ctrl+Shift+E"  

b) Go to General -> Top-Level entity -> click on browse file and select correct entity... 

That sould solve the problem. 

Best regards.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Solved !!! We should define the top-level entity: 

a) Press "Ctrl+Shift+E"  

b) Go to General -> Top-Level entity -> click on browse file and select correct entity... 

That sould solve the problem. 

Best regards. 

--- Quote End ---  

It worked. Thank you! :)