Intel® FPGA University Program
University Program Material, Education Boards, and Laboratory Exercises
1175 Discussions

University IP SD Card Interface with the DE0 board

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello all, 

I'm a Uni student in Bristol, UK. I'm trying to use the DE0 board for a project using a robot arm and a keypad to control it. We have to record so I'd like to get the SD card working. 

Using NIOS2 and FreeRTOS. The Altera SD card interface provided with the DE0 is quite low level, so I have tried to integrate the University IP so I can use the convenient FAT16 routines. 

I included the vhd files in SOPC builder, it's generated and provided system.h with the interface name:# define SD_CARD_INTERFACE_NAME "/dev/SD_CARD_Interface" 

I'm trying to use the SD card example given at the end of the PDF file, but the following line returns a NULL pointer: 

device_reference = alt_up_sd_card_open_dev(SD_CARD_INTERFACE_NAME); 

so the following if statement evaluates FALSE and just drops out. 

There was a previous post concerning the function that gets called in the line above: 

alt_dev* alt_find_dev(const char* name, alt_llist* llist) 

which looks like it isn't finding the name of the device in the linked list and returning NULL. 

The SD card I am using was detected while using the original SD interface, so I know it's not hardware. I followed the Pin assignments on the PDF which I assume are right. 

Pin Name DE0 

b_SD_cmd PIN_Y22 

b_SD_dat PIN_AA22 

b_SD_dat3 PIN_W21 

o_SD_clock PIN_Y21 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. It's quite curious.
0 Kudos
2 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, could I bump this up please? 

I'd really like an answer soon. 

Cheers
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

OK, found the solution to this! 

ftp://ftp.altera.com/up/pub/university_program_ip_cores/90/altera_up_avalon_sd_card_interface.zip