Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16559 Discussions

How to set QSYS component base address through VHDL generics

OKris1
Beginner

Hi. I am new to QSYS and VHDL, so i am still learning. I have created a VHDL code and simulated it in MODELSIM = it works fine, as it should

I have then wrapped it into an avalon MM interface and created a QSYS component = it looks fine

Then I have added generics to my VHDL code to set the base address of the registers/memory in the code. When I create the QSYS module now a aprameter call base_address shows up, but how do i link this parameter to the column called base in the system contents tab? I am guessing this is the same parameter?

0 Kudos
4 Replies
AnandRaj_S_Intel
Employee

Hi,

1. VHDL Generics is not used for base address under system contents tab.
  2. VHDL GenericsVHDL allows the designer to parametrize the entity during the component instantiation.

As you add the components in the Qsys/platform designer system, you specify their base addresses within the span of the address space using Qsys GUI.

Base address can be directly edited by the user, or it can be assigned automatically by using the Assign Base Addresses from System menu

We can control on the offset address using HDL.

Refer below link

https://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/programmable/us/en/pdfs/literature/hb/qts/qsys_components.pdf

ftp://ftp.intel.com/Pub/fpgaup/pub/Intel_Material/13.1/Tutorials/Making_Qsys_Components.pdf

Let me know if this has helped resolve the issue you are facing or if you need any further assistance.

Regards

Anand

0 Kudos
OKris1
Beginner