Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16557 Discussions

How to use modelsim to do RTL simulation of DDR3 with UniPHY

Ryan-SEU
Novice

Hi everyone, 

Environment : WIN10 64bits, Quartus II 18.1, modelsim-altera 10.5b, cyclone V E 5CEFA9F31I7N, Micron MT41J128M16JT-125*2.

I am a FPGA beginner. In my design, I used two Micron DDR3 on the PCB, I configured the IP core correctly, wrote a simple read and write test program, and verified it with Signaltap on the actual PCB, so I can sure that I can control DDR3 properly.
Now I want to use modelsim for RTL simulation because my code logic becomes more complex and signaltap sometimes doesn't reflect all timing situations better. But I don't understand how to do RTL simulation. I write a testbench, but modelsim show me some errors, for instance: modelsim Module parameter 'CFG_CMD_GEN_OUTPUT_REG' not found for override.Do I need to add some model files?The "External Memory Interface Handbook" has a lot operation to offer. but I can't find a specific operation.
Can you list the necessary steps? I want to follow these steps to complete the RTL simulation.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
sstrell
Honored Contributor III

You'll want to create the simulation example design from the EMIF UniPHY IP by running the scripts generated.  I'd link you but it appears a number of pages are down on intel.com right now.

0 Kudos
AdzimZM_Intel
Employee

Hello and Good Day,

In my opinion, you can create an example design from the EMIF IP.

And then you can a run a simulation with a Modelsim script.

You might want to refer to the link below for a reference: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/docs/programmable/683841/17-0/functional-description-example-designs.html

Thanks,

Adzim

0 Kudos
Ryan-SEU
Novice

Hi Adzim,

Thank you for your reply!