Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Honored Contributor I

Question about 1 port ram

Hello, I am new to VHDL. Currently I need to use M20K memory on Stratix V chip to store some data. I have two of these kind memory, m1 and m2. Each have 128 data, each data is 32 bit. I also use comparator from IP Catalog to do the comparison and pick the smallest 128 numbers among m1 and m2. I am wondering if I can directly add process in the architecture of m1 and m2 to make it easier to do the comparison. 

Many thanks for the help.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Highlighted
Honored Contributor I

128 data at 32 bit is only 4k, using only about 20% of the ram. 

What architecture are you talking about. Do you have some code we can see?
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Honored Contributor I

--- Quote Start ---  

128 data at 32 bit is only 4k, using only about 20% of the ram. 

What architecture are you talking about. Do you have some code we can see? 

--- Quote End ---  

thank you for your help! 

the following is the code automatically generated from IP Catalog wizard for the 1 port RAM using M20K memory. I am wondering if I can add some extra ports/components, and add some process into the architecture part to perform some actions.