Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16597 Discussions

SystemVerilog logic type as bidir

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I'm new to SystemVerilog and have a question about a warning Quartus is throwing. I'm working with a design done by someone else. 

In my code I have a 2 interfaces which have port type logic. In the module there is assignment of one logic type to another... for example 

interface typeA(); 

logic[3:0][3:0] mem_A; 

endinterface 

interface typeB(); 

logic[3:0] b1; 

logic[3:0] b2; 

logic[3:0] b3; 

endinterface 

module dut(typeA in, typeB out); 

assign out.b1[0] = in.mem_A[0]; 

assign out.b2[1] = in.mem_A[1]; 

assign out.b3[2] = in.mem_A[2]; 

endmodule 

I'm trying to get rid of this warning but don't know what do to since the interfaces are being used multiple times all over the design. 

Warning (10665): Bidirectional port "IN.pix[0][2]" at If.sv(47) has a one-way connection to bidirectional port "OUT.grn[0][2]" 

Thanks in advance.
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The error message has the identifiers 'pix' and 'grn', but they do not exist in the source code.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

The error message has the identifiers 'pix' and 'grn', but they do not exist in the source code. 

--- Quote End ---  

The code is just an example...the warning is copied from Quartus. In all correctness the warning to match example should have been 

Warning (10665): Bidirectional port "in.mem_A[0][0]" at If.sv(#) has a one-way connection to bidirectional port "out.b1[0][0]" 

Warning (10665): Bidirectional port "in.mem_A[0][1]" at If.sv(#) has a one-way connection to bidirectional port "out.b1[0][1]"