Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16556 Discussions

compiling a design that instantiate 4096 times the same module

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm writing a vhdl top code that instantiates 4096 the same module (using vhdl generate statement).  

The module consists in a RAM, plus an adder and some other logic ... and 4096 of them saturates the biggest stratix V that Altera have ... 

It takes about 6 hours compile time ...  

I wonder if exist a standard compile and place route procedure to perform this kind of designs, like compiling the single module only one time and  

then placing the block 4096 times ... I'm new to this kind of modular and repetitive designs so can someone explain me which is the usual way of proceeding ? 

Using logiblocks or partitions or something else could help ?  

Thanks a lot 

franco
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hi, 

I'm writing a vhdl top code that instantiates 4096 the same module (using vhdl generate statement).  

The module consists in a RAM, plus an adder and some other logic ... and 4096 of them saturates the biggest stratix V that Altera have ... 

It takes about 6 hours compile time ...  

I wonder if exist a standard compile and place route procedure to perform this kind of designs, like compiling the single module only one time and  

then placing the block 4096 times ... I'm new to this kind of modular and repetitive designs so can someone explain me which is the usual way of proceeding ? 

Using logiblocks or partitions or something else could help ?  

Thanks a lot 

franco 

--- Quote End ---  

Your question is wrong. Does it fit or not the available resource. If not then why ask how to fit it.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II