Intel® oneAPI Threading Building Blocks
Ask questions and share information about adding parallelism to your applications when using this threading library.

Lambda and scan

sinaelgl
Beginner
Hello, I'm just beginning to use lambda expressions with TBB and I was wondering if it is possible to use a lambda expression with a parallel_scan to compute a prefix sum. Does anyone have any working examples or ideas and docs on using lambdas not just with parallel_for ?

Thank you.
0 Kudos
7 Replies
sinaelgl
Beginner
Another question on the topic of parallel_scan: is it possible to invert the direction in which the range is scanned? A concrete example is doing a suffix sum instead of the prefix sum.
I don't want to reverse the array, prefix sum and reverse it again as it's pretty expensive
0 Kudos
SergeyKostrov
Valued Contributor II
...as it's pretty expensive...

How big is your array?

Also,
- you could keep the original array intact;
- create a copy of it;
- invert it;
- calculate prefix sums;
- release the copy.

Would it work for you?

Best regards,
Sergey
0 Kudos
RafSchietekat
Valued Contributor III
#0 "Hello, I'm just beginning to use lambda expressions with TBB and I was wondering if it is possible to use a lambda expression with a parallel_scan to compute a prefix sum. Does anyone have any working examples or ideas and docs on using lambdas not just with parallel_for ?"
A C++ lambda expression cannot specify all the features required by a tbb::parallel_scan Body, and its temporary-object result cannot be bound to a non-const reference, so no.

#1 "Another question on the topic of parallel_scan: is it possible to invert the direction in which the range is scanned? A concrete example is doing a suffix sum instead of the prefix sum."
The simplest solution seems to be to use range element i as array index array_size-1-i.
0 Kudos
RafSchietekat
Valued Contributor III
I corrected resp. simplified the 2 parts of #3.
0 Kudos
sinaelgl
Beginner