Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20684 Discussions

MAX10 constraining IO problems

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I am fairly new to FPGA development and learning about constraining my system but am really struggling. My system 'works' at certain clock frequencies but change something and I have I/O glitches so I clearly haven't constrained the IO properly. 

I've read and tried to understand http://www.alterawiki.com/wiki/timequest_user_guide by Rysc and while that helped a lot I am struggling with generating the constraints. 

I've done quite a bit of googling to try to find examples or references I can use as a base but my system doesn't fit the normal source synchronous simple examples. 

Paint representation of the system: 

https://alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=14398&stc=1  

The system is an 8 bit 5v micro "host" and an 8-bit 5v processor unit "parasite" connected via the MAX10 FPGA which implements various FIFO buffers as well as the boot ROM (via user FLASH) for the parasite uP. For the curious both uPs are 6502 variants. The 2MHzE clock comes from the host via buffers. The 8MHz FPGA clock is unrelated to the 2MHz clock. The FPGA generates the output clock for the parasite CPU using the PLL again via buffers (delay). All signal lines are buffered with delays. 

I've tried to create the clocks but don't think I've got them defined right because TQ lists my clock input CLK_0n_p25 in the unconstrained inputs list.