Software Archive
Read-only legacy content
17061 Discussions

Integration of Open Watcom C++ compiler - details, performance evaluation, etc

SergeyKostrov
Valued Contributor II
*** Integration of Open Watcom C++ compiler - details, performance evaluation, etc *** Welcome Back, Open Watcom C++ compiler! At the end of 2015 a decision was made to integrate Open Watcom C++ compiler v1.9 with a project I've been working on since 2009. I used Watcom C++ compiler in the middle of 90th ( last century! ) and I know how superior it is when it comes to optimization of C and C++ codes. Honestly, I was concerned about timing of the integration, that is end of the year, Christmas almost "knocks" to the door ( just two weeks before December 24th ), however a significant portion of the integration was completed in about 6 hours and I managed to compile C/C++ sources and executed some test-cases. Even if the work is still in progress on stabilizing codes and solving some little technical problems I could say that The Legendary Watcom C++ compiler is Not at the top of a list of the Modern optimizing C/C++ compilers. First of all, because version 1.9 is 32-bit only and does Not fully support, or does Not support At All, some Hot-Modern technologies. There is No support of SSE 2.x, SSE 4.x, AVX, AVX2, FMA instructions, OpenMP, Intel intrinsic functions, etc. But, don't be too frustrated because Open Watcom C++ compiler team is working, this is an Open Source Project now, and I hope that a new version of Open Watcom C++ compiler will be released in the future. I will follow up with more technical details and performance evaluation numbers on a set of scientific algorithms later. I will demonstrate how good Open Watcom C++ compiler is compared to Borland, MinGW, Microsoft, Intel and Turbo C++ compilers.
0 Kudos
90 Replies
zalia64
New Contributor I

I wait with anticipation: Have free-thinkers with innovation any chance against a MegaBuck giant?

0 Kudos
SergeyKostrov