Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7367 Discussions

When I connect my Private Internet Access (PIA) VPN, my wifi drops immediately.

it_tek
Beginner

I then have to turn on my wifi, then connect it again and it usually stays connected after that. I have the latest driver with these results. Before this driver it would keep dropping the wifi constantly. I have the details of my system below. I am an IT professional so you can speak to me that way please. This started with a WIN 10 update a few months ago. I was able to do a sys restore a few times but got tired of that as it would eventually find its way to update again. I have tried my VPN service support, no help. I have tried installing their beta as well that has a debugger, but I get no replies to sending in the log. I keep researching and always find different suggestions to which I have tried all, but many if not all involve the wifi driver. So I figured I would ask you. It works just fine if I plug in my Ethernet cable. This is a wifi only problem and I had no issues until that update in approx October time frame.

HP EliteBook Folio 1040 G3

Operating System

Microsoft Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)

Version 1803

OS Build 10.0.17134

Build Branch rs4_release

Locale English (United States)

Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS

System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32

.NET Framework Versions 2.0.50727.4927, 3.0.30729.4926, 3.5.30729.4926, 4.0.0.0, 4.7.03056

Default Internet Browser Internet Explorer 11.472.17134.0

Installed Internet Browsers Google Chrome, Internet Explorer 11.472.17134.0

Processor

Intel® Core™ i5-6200U CPU @ 2.30GHz

Manufacturer GenuineIntel

Description Intel64 Family 6 Model 78 Stepping 3

Architecture x64

Graphics

Intel® HD Graphics 520

Adapter Compatibility Intel Corporation

Video Processor Intel® HD Graphics Family

Resolution 1920 x 1080

Audio

Conexant ISST Audio

Driver Provider Conexant