Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16596 Discussions

Can't open .qbf file due to no device support installed, but Cyclone IV support is installed. Quartus Prime 19.1 Lite.

JSmit268
Beginner

I'm brand new to Quartus Prime, running Windows 10.

A co-worker currently owns some FPGA code and I need to make some changes. So I downloaded the Quartus Prime 19.1 Lite (QuartusLiteSetup-19.1.0.670-windows.exe) package and installed it.

I also downloaded the Cyclone IV device support (cyclone-19.1.0.670.qdz) file and the windows patch "quartus-19.1std-0.02std-windows.exe". I installed the windows patch with no issues after installed Quartus Prime 19.1 Lite.

When I installed Quartus Prime 19.1 Lite it showed that it also installed support for Cyclone IV. I found that interesting since there is a separate download for that device support. But, that's fine.

When I first open the software, it tells me that I need to install device support. Hmmm. It said it installed support for Cyclone IV already. (See attached image "You Must Install Message.png".)

Okay, so I attempt to install device support. It tells me that Cyclone IV support is already installed. (See image "Select Components Showing Cyclone IV already installed With Message.png".)

So what is it? Is there Cyclone IV device support installed or not? There seems to be some disconnect here.

Is there some other patch that needs to be installed, is this a bug, or do I need to install some other device support (that I don't need) in order to get by the prompt to install device support?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
sstrell
Honored Contributor III