Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16609 Discussions

Timing analysis - Timing requirements not met

germano
Beginner

Hello,

When compiling my project I get two critical warning errors :

1. Critical Warning (14997): The FPGA to HPS SDRAM PLL reference clock path is not timing analyzed and could be subject to jitter.

2. Critical Warning (332148): Timing requirements not met
Info (11105): For recommendations on closing timing, run Report Timing Closure Recommendations in the Timing Analyzer.

In my Qsys, I use 50 MHz clock as well as a PLL with a 400 MHz output, in my constraint file I have (I'm new to timing contraints) :

# 50MHz board input clock
create_clock -period 20 [get_ports fpga_clk_50]

# create unused clock constraint for HPS I2C and usb1 to avoid misleading unconstraint clock reporting in TimeQuest
create_clock -period "1 MHz" [get_ports hps_i2c0_SCL]
create_clock -period "48 MHz" [get_ports hps_usb1_CLK]

derive_pll_clocks -create_base_clocks
derive_clock_uncertainty

I'm I missing something ? I don't understand those two error messages and what they want me to modify.

Thank you

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Nurina
Employee

Hi,

What device are you targeting and what Quartus version are you using?

Can you share a screenshot of the clock connections in RTL viewer?

Regards,

Nurina

0 Kudos
sstrell
Honored Contributor III

You're missing your I/O timing constraints, set_input_delay and set_output_delay.  All synchronous I/O need constraints.  Asynchronous paths should be set as false paths.  Run an analysis in the timing analyzer to see exactly which paths are failing timing.  I'd recommend starting here:

https://cdrdv2.intel.com/v1/dl/getContent/653046?explicitVersion=true

0 Kudos
Nurina
Employee

Hi,

Does the above comment help?

Regards,

Nurina

0 Kudos
Nurina
Employee

Hi,