Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20688 Discussions

pin assignment problem

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am new to quartus ii. I have created a bdf file instead of verilog/vhdl . i am taking input through terasic data conversion card and through sma cable i am giving a sine wave but i am not able to see the input through signal tap analyzer . when i see the pin planner there is no location , bank and pin assigned to inputs and outputs . i have imported the pin assignments. what can i do so the output and input will be assigned. 

Help will be highly appreciated. 

Thanks in Advance
0 Kudos
13 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

when i see the pin planner there is no location , bank and pin assigned to inputs and outputs 

--- Quote End ---  

There will be at least an automatically selected fitter location shown for each port signal after compilation if you didn't assign a location. Did you select a FPGA type in device assignments? 

--- Quote Start ---  

I have imported the pin assignments 

--- Quote End ---  

How?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hi, 

I am new to quartus ii. I have created a bdf file instead of verilog/vhdl . i am taking input through terasic data conversion card and through sma cable i am giving a sine wave but i am not able to see the input through signal tap analyzer . when i see the pin planner there is no location , bank and pin assigned to inputs and outputs . i have imported the pin assignments. what can i do so the output and input will be assigned. 

Help will be highly appreciated. 

Thanks in Advance 

--- Quote End ---  

Hi shipra7993,